HRK Universities and Universities of Applied Sciences Member Groups elect Spokespersons

23. November 2020

Professor Dr Anja Steinbeck, Rector of Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, will act as Spokesperson of the HRK Universities Member Group in the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK) and as Vice-President of the HRK. The Member Group elected the lawyer as the successor to the Rector of University of Duisburg-Essen, Prof Dr Ulrich Radtke, who did not stand for re-election after two terms in office. The group confirmed Prof Dr Volker Epping, President of the Leibniz University of Hanover, as the deputy Spokesperson.

Professor Dr Karim Khakzar will continue as Spokesperson of the HRK Universities of Applied Sciences Member Group. He has been a member of the HRK Executive Board in this capacity since 2016. The President of Fulda University of Applied Sciences and Professor of Electrical and Communications Engineering is being re-elected for the second time by the Member Group.

The Spokespersons of the two Member Groups sit on the HRK Executive Board by virtue of the HRK’s rules of procedure. Their respective two-year terms of office will commence on 1 December of this year.