The University of Vechta becomes a member of the HRK

14. May 2014

The University of Vechta was yesterday admitted as a new member university by the German Rectors' Conference at its General Meeting in Frankfurt am Main.

The University of Vechta is a new campus university with currently over 4000 students. "Hochschule Vechta" (Vechta College of Higher Education), as it was known at the time, was first established as an independent institution on 1 January 1995. Since 8 June 2010, following a decision by the federal state government of Lower Saxony under the new Higher Education Law, it has been permitted to designate itself a university.

The HRK now has 268 member universities. It is "The Voice of the Universities" to policy-makers and to the public and represents a forum in which shared opinions are formed. It concerns itself with everything that affects the work of the universities: research, teaching and studying, scientific further training, knowledge and technology transfer, international collaboration and self-administration.