The Voice of the Universities

11 July 2022 Election of university spokespersons in the HRK: Anja Steinbeck confirmed in office

Prof Dr Anja Steinbeck, Rector of Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, will remain spokesperson for the Universities Member Group of the German Rectors' Conference (HRK) and in this capacity also Vice-President of the HRK. In the elections for the Member Group's spokespersons last Wednesday in Berlin, the legal scholar was elected for a second term of office without any dissenting votes. Prof Dr Volker Epping, President of Leibniz University Hannover, was also confirmed in office as deputy spokesperson of the group.

Prof Dr Birgitt Riegraf, President of the University of Paderborn, and Prof Dr Günter Ziegler, President of Freie Universität Berlin, will serve as members of the extended spokespersons' board. Prof Dr Kerstin Krieglstein, Rector of the University of Freiburg and HRK Vice-President for University Medicine and Health Sciences, did not stand for re-election. Prof Dr Katharina Krause, former President of the University of Marburg, had already left the board.

By virtue of the HRK's rules of procedure, the spokesperson of the Member Group sits on the HRK Executive Board. The two-year terms of office of the members of the spokespersons' board commence on 1 December of each election year.