Joint Statement of the Presidents of European Rectors' Conferences

We as European university leaders wish to reaffirm our commitment to international cooperation and exchange in this turbulent time for Europe. We are strongest when we tackle issues collaboratively, when we exchange ideas and people, and when we open our hearts and minds to new perspectives and new knowledge.

Collaboration is also a cornerstone of innovation and excellence. It is by pooling infrastructure, data and expertise that we can best pursue ground-breaking research which improves people's lives and help to build strong and sustainable knowledge economies.

The outcome of the UK's referendum on EU membership will mean a new relationship between the UK and the rest of Europe, but we will work together to ensure that the long-standing research and exchange relationships between Europe's universities continue, for the benefit of people across the continent.

	i	
Prof. Rolf Tarrach	President	European Universities Association
Prof. Dame Julia Goodfellow	President	Universities UK
Prof. Dr. Horst Hippler	President	German Rectors' Conference
Professor Jean-Loup Salzmann	President	French Conference of University Presidents
Prof. Dr. Oliver Vitouch	President	Universities Austria
Prof. Dr. Tomas Zima	President	Czech Rectors' Conference
Rector Per Michael Johansen	Vice Chair	Universities Denmark
Professor Tiit Land	President	Universities Estonia
Professor Jouko Niinimäki	President	Universities Finland
Professor Luc De Schepper	President	Flemish Interuniversity Council
Dr. József Bódis	President	Hungarian Rectors' Conference
Dr Jon Atli Benediktsson	President	National Rectors Conference in Iceland
Prof. Don Barry	President	Irish Universities Association
Prof. Gaetano Manfredi	President	Conference of Italian Universities Rectors
Professor Arvids Barsevskis	Chairman	Latvian Rectors' Council

The Presidents of European Rectors' Conferences

Professor Rainer Klump	President	University of Luxembourg
Jan Mengelers	Board Member	Association of Universities in the Netherlands
Prof. Dr Vidar L. Haanes	President	Norwegian Association for Higher Education Institutions
Professor Wieslaw Banys	President	Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland
Prof. António M. Cunha	President	Portuguese National Conference of Rectors
Prof. Dr Vladimir Bumbasirevic	President	Conference of the Universities of Serbia
Professor Rudolf Kropil	Head	Slovak Rectors' Conference
Professor Dragan Marušič, PhD	President	Slovenian Rectors' Conference

Mr. Segundo Píriz Durán	President	Conference of the Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE)
Professor Helen Dannetun	Chair of the Board	Association of Swedish Higher Education